The Clock in the Forest

The Clock in the Forest

By John Fuller

Price: £10.00

ISBN: 978-1-912524-06-8

190 pages, paperback, 127x203mm

The Clock in the Forest, John Fuller’s first novel since the highly-praised Flawed Angel (2005), deliberately places a fictional narrative within an autobiographical framework. Set in 1956, it is a novel about growing up, a comedy of manners in which a nineteen-year old National Serviceman, harbouring ambitions of becoming a poet and film-maker, finds himself involved with the wife and daughter of an ebullient composer/film-maker and his family whom he meets in rural Gloucestershire, and the watcher-on of the composer’s entanglements with his pupils and a scandal concerning the man’s mad exhibitionist brother-in-law.

At once playful and philosophical, as with all Fuller’s fiction, The Clock in the Forest combines a readiness to make use of formal inventiveness while never forgetting to tell a story.

Praise for John Fuller’s novels

Flying to Nowhere:

“Beautifully composed, brief, horrific, a parable about the nature of the flesh and the spirit.” – Fay Weldon

“Vivid as a dream… It lingers in the mind and asks to be re-read.” – Claire Tomalin, Sunday Times

The Burning Boys:

“Studded with precise but magical notations of the everyday world.” – John Walsh, Observer

“Tender, evocative and charming, this novel is also challenging.” – Alan Massie, The Scotsman

A Skin Diary:

“Superb.” – TLS

“The British novel is certainly alive and kicking.” – Financial Times

Flawed Angel:

“A repertory of wonders.” – The Times

“A delicious treat.” – Guardian

As well as being an award-winning poet, John Fuller is the author of nine previous novels, including Flying to Nowhere, winner of the Whitbread Prize in 1983.