Thirty-Three Ostrich Cadenzas

Thirty-Three Ostrich Cadenzas

By John Gohorry

Price: £6.00

ISBN: 978-1-910323-74-8

135mmx210mm, paperback, 24pp

John Gohorry was born Donald Smith in Coventry, in 1943. He obtained an M.Phil. from the University of London in 1970 and lectured in Further/Higher Education until retirement in 2006. He has published nine collections of poems, most recently The Age of Saturn (Shoestring Press, 2015) and Impromptus for George Erdmann, with The Good Samaritan, a libretto for a Conjectural Abendmusik 1705 (Lapwing, 2015). The libretto has been set to music by the composer Anna Krause. His poem Lost won the 2008 Keats/Shelley Memorial Association Poetry Competition.

He is Poet in Residence at David’s Bookshop, Letchworth Garden City.

Eighteen of the Ostrich Cadenzas appear, with annotated contemporary photographs, in Issue 88 of The Kyoto Journal (online at, February 2017.