John Lucas

John Lucas is a poet, critic, biographer and literary historian. His most recent books include A World Perhaps: New and Selected Poems, The Radical Twenties: Writing, Politics, Culture, The Good That We Do, and 92 Acharnon Street, winner of the Dolman Award for the Best Travel Book of 2008.

“John Lucas’s Next Year Will Be Better recalls in astonishing and celebratory detail the sounds, tastes and smells of England in the 1950s.” Blake Morrison, ‘Books of the Year’, the Guardian.

“Lucas’s poems are brilliant vignettes, perhaps the verse equivalent of Stanley Middleton’s novels.” Peter Porter, the Observer.

“Only a dedicated sourpuss would fail to be swept along by Lucas’s zest and intelligence.” John De Falbe, the Spectator.

Books by Shoestring Press:

The Awkward Squad: Rebels in English Cricket

Shoestring’s Commons

Paging Doctor Jazz (Editor and Introduction)

Take 5 – 2005

Books distributed by Shoestring Press:

Waterdrops (Published by Greenwich Exchange)

Next Year Will Be Better: a memoir of England in the 1950s (Five Leaves Publications)

All My Eye & Betty Martin (Published by Redbeck Press)

I, the Poet Egil (Published by Redbeck Press)

Things to Say (Five Leaves Publications)